Wild Lights


  


Event Description:

With summer behind us, and fall events in full swing, it's now time to coordinate volunteer activities for Saint Louis Zoo Wild Lights! Wild Lights is the Zoo’s family-friendly holiday lights experience with fire pits, children’s activities, and live entertainment.  

 

Volunteers are needed to assist with children’s activities, as monitors for our holiday maze and s’mores fire pits, and as pathway guides to take guest photos, and direct guests throughout the various event areas. As you can imagine, we need a lot of volunteers (about 13 per night), so if you can sign up for multiple nights, please do. Feel free to recruit family or friends to volunteer with you! Minimum age for volunteering is 18 years old (or 15 years old with a guardian). 

 

NEW VOLUNTEER BENEFIT!

If you volunteer for at least two (2) Wild Lights shifts, you will receive two (2) Adventure Passes (to be used at a future visit to the Zoo). Passes will be mailed to you after the event has concluded. Double the fun for everyone!   

 

Event Dates: November 26-28; December 1-5; December 8-12; December 14-23; and December 26 - 30

Event Time: 5:00 – 8:30 p.m.  

Shift Time: 4:45-8:30 p.m. Volunteers will report to The Living World Volunteer Room at the beginning of their shift time for Volunteer Dispatch.  

 

Please read the event details and volunteer requirements below carefully, before signing up to participate.  

 

Fire Extinguisher Training 

We are asking all event volunteers to take a short fire extinguisher training for this event. Some assignments will require volunteers to monitor fire pits, and we want everyone to feel prepared. Please read the short presentation at http://www.fireextinguishertraining.com/en/introduction.html. Please complete the test at the end of this fire extinguisher training. Please notify Rachel at rdrochter@stlzoo.org once you have completed the training. 

 

The safety of our staff and guests is our highest priority. Volunteers are required to submit a Health Screening Form to the Saint Louis Zoo Safety and Risk Management Department at least 2-3 days prior to this event. An electronic form submission link will be provided in your volunteer registration confirmation email. By signing up for this event, volunteers are agreeing to the Saint Louis Zoo's mask policy 

 

Additional Details: 

  • Uniform: White shirt with Khaki (or neutral color) bottoms. No jeans, please. Comfortable shoes are encouraged. Please dress for the weather, including hats, scarves and gloves! Hand warmers will be available if needed. Event nametags will be provided during check-in. 
  • This is a rain or shine event. 
  • Snacks, water and hot cocoa will be available for volunteers throughout the evening. 
  • All volunteer roles are active and require walking and standing. Volunteers will be given breaks as needed. Chairs will be available in the kid’s activity area. 
  • Volunteers are expected to stay through the end of the assigned shift time; in the event that an assignment ends before the end of the shift time, volunteers will be reassigned as needed through the end of the shift time.  
  • To view the event fact sheet, click HERE

Thank you for helping us to make this year’s Wild Lights a memorable holiday experience for all!  


Select an Available Slot Below
Date/Time &
Details
Volunteers
Needed
Wed, Dec 1, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Dec 2, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Fri, Dec 3, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Sat, Dec 4, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Sun, Dec 5, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Mon, Dec 6, 2021 - 5:30 PM to 8:00 PM   
Saint Louis Blues Wild Light Night
Full
Tue, Dec 7, 2021 - 5:30 PM to 8:15 PM   
U.S. Bank Night
Full
Wed, Dec 8, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Thu, Dec 9, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Fri, Dec 10, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Sat, Dec 11, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Sun, Dec 12, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Tue, Dec 14, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Wed, Dec 15, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Thu, Dec 16, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Fri, Dec 17, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Sat, Dec 18, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Sun, Dec 19, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
1
Sign Up
Mon, Dec 20, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Tue, Dec 21, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
1
Sign Up
Wed, Dec 22, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Thu, Dec 23, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
1
Sign Up
Sun, Dec 26, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
5
Sign Up
Mon, Dec 27, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
Full
Tue, Dec 28, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
5
Sign Up
Wed, Dec 29, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
4
Sign Up
Thu, Dec 30, 2021 - 4:45 PM to 8:30 PM   
6
Sign Up
 
Meeting Location: Saint Louis Zoo

One Government Drive, Saint Louis, MO 63110

View Location Map

Event Organizer: Rachel Drochter
rdrochter@stlzoo.org
314-781-0900
Event Category:
Events